Midnight Impulse

learning experiences and impulsive decisions

Religion

Leave a comment

I was discussing politics with my dad just now.  I was telling him on how I disagree with the idea of making kids in public school pray, whether they are Christian or not.  He disagreed with that and said I don’t like the whole praying in school thing because I’m not devout.  “So, you’re an atheist.”  I shrugged and asked whether that’s a problem for him.  Apparently it is.

He didn’t take into consideration the fact that him and every other adult in my family has used Christianity and religion as a club rather than a welcoming idea.  I’ve grown up forced to pray, forced to believe.  Honestly, I’ve always had my doubts about the whole Jesus story, ever since I was 5.  More on that later.

Now: Technically, I wouldn’t consider myself an atheist.  I still believe.  I believe in destiny.  And reincarnation.  And my own version of how human souls are distributed.  I didn’t tell my dad about any of that though.  I figured he doesn’t really care.

Author: Adelaide Martin

18 year old international student's transition into college life on a new continent.

Leave a Reply

