Midnight Impulse

learning experiences and impulsive decisions

Wonderful night with Couchsurfers

Leave a comment

One of my teachers has introduced me to an amazing worldwide travel company called Couch Surfing.  This site allows you to stay at a stranger’s home while travelling, free of charge.  The objective of the organization is to allow travelers to not only visit a country, but make friends with someone who KNOWS the country.  

The branch of the organization where I live hosts meetings every now and then, and last Sunday I attended my first hang out.  I met several people, and although I was by far the youngest one there, I had a lot of fun and was able to talk to many people and get to know them.  There were a few locals from my country at the hangouts, some diaspora from Syria, international residents who’ve been here forever, as well as several tourists just passing through the country.

I met a polish man who’s spent the last 10 years of his life travelling all over.  We talked for a large part of the night until I had to go home (had school to go to the next day).  I find his life style to be very intriguing, and I’ll be sure to discuss it in a different post sometime.  I’ve been waiting a couple of days for him to find me on the CS website.  

xx

Adelaide

Author: Adelaide Martin

18 year old international student's transition into college life on a new continent.

Leave a Reply

