Midnight Impulse

learning experiences and impulsive decisions

Children’s Thoughts

Leave a comment

So today my parents left me alone with my two sisters, N1 and N2 (no, not real names.  My parents don’t hate their kids that much.)  N1 is 8 years old, while N2 is 6.  I don’t usually spend much time with them, but today I decided to drink tea with N1 in the kitchen while N2 slept upstairs.

N1 told me what she likes about Christmas.  She thinks it’s the best time of the year because “if your parents can’t afford to buy you the things you want, Santa will get them for you.”  She also told me of her doubts about Santa.  She doesn’t wonder if Santa is real or not, but she wonders whether HE’S the one that get’s the presents, or whether parents secretly buy them and give them to Santa, and he’s just a delivery man.

Due to her doubts, she has thus written a letter to Santa but kept it secret from our parents.  I hope she comes to a logical conclusion eventually.  I also hope she doesn’t end up present-less.

I asked her what she wanted to be when she grows up, and she said she wanted to be a teacher.  I asked her why, and she said because she likes the eccentric yet girly way her teacher dresses.  She also said she wants to be a teacher because she wants to homeschool her kids.  I asked her why she wanted to homeschool them, and she said because she’s scared they’ll go through the gunning that recently happened in Connecticut.  I was amazed at how deeply this tragedy struck her.

This was about when my younger sister woke up, N2.  I asked her if she ever wants to leave this country and live elsewhere.  She said she’ll only move if mom and dad go with her too.  I asked, “really?  You never want to see the world?  Go to Paris or London or the United States?”    She was serious for a moment, and then replied, “No.  I’ll get lost.”

Our little sit-down ended when I started playing “Smells Like Teen Spirit” on my phone, and they noticed the baby penis and started getting inappropriate about it.

Happy last night on earth to all those who believe,

And see you later for those who don’t.

Love,

Adelaide

Author: Adelaide Martin

18 year old international student's transition into college life on a new continent.

Leave a Reply

