Midnight Impulse

learning experiences and impulsive decisions

Siblings

Leave a comment

Oh dear god, do they drive me insane.  I’m the oldest in a family of four kids, and there’s quite an age gap between us.  I’m 16 and they’re all under the age of 10.  See, my brother I don’t mind so much.  He’s 9 and obsessed with Minecraft, so he just sits on the computer all day not making any sound.  When my parents are around, my sisters behave themselves.  The older sister, let’s call her N1, is 8 and busies herself with watching YouTube videos of cats on her iPad.  I’m not sure what the 6 year old does, (let’s call her N2) but she’s usually screaming rather than speaking.

The past week my parents have been leaving the house more often than usual to buy presents for the kids.  When they’re not around, my two sisters gang up on me.  Yeah, I know, I’m much older and bigger than they are, but these girls are menacing.  They come up and scream in my ears when I try to ignore them, and when I get up to run after them, they run fast up to their room.  

I usually like to use the passive approach in dealing with them.  I don’t show them that what they do bothers me.  However, after 20 minutes of incessant purposeful shouting and toy-throwing [at me] I snap and start yelling at them.  Today was one of those days.

My solution to the problem?  Call mom and dad.  Totally put them in their place.  

I’m an older sister who is totally in charge.  Oh yeah.

 

Season’s Greetings, 

Adelaide

Author: Adelaide Martin

18 year old international student's transition into college life on a new continent.

Leave a Reply

