Midnight Impulse

learning experiences and impulsive decisions

Thoughts on Friends (the tv show)

Leave a comment

My parents inadvertently introduced me to Friends when I was about 6 years old.  The Flinstones and Friends would be on at the same time as Friends, so there’d always be arguing on my part to watch my show.  When I’d lose the argument, I used to sit all pouty and pissed off.  Eventually, I don’t remember when, I began liking the show.  The show was in English with Arabic subtitles at the bottom.  At the time, I didn’t know any English, and I’d just started the first grade, so I was just learning how to read in Arabic.  I think I just laughed when the audience laughed.

So anyway, I’d catch glimpses of this show for the next decade, until finally last year when I decided to start watching the show online.  I sped through all 10 seasons over the summer, finally understanding the dirty jokes, let alone the dialogue.  It’s been a year since I finished watching it, and I recently decided to watch the whole series again.  I was feeling nostalgic.

After my experience with a large group of “friends” last year, I feel kind of weird watching the show.  Like, I don’t know how others perceive it, but it feels a little weird how they’re all just sleeping around with one another.  I think I may be more conservative than others, but last year there was a brother and a sister in our group and it felt so WEIRD to me when the sister was encouraging her best friend to make out with the brother.  

Gah.  I’m definitely not as “westernised” as I think I am.  Do any of you have any thoughts on this?  Would you feel weird having your older/younger brother/sister in your group and knowing who they’re going out with and what they’re doing with that person?

 

Conservatively yours, 

Adelaide

Author: Adelaide Martin

18 year old international student's transition into college life on a new continent.

Leave a Reply

