Midnight Impulse

learning experiences and impulsive decisions

New Year

1 Comment

Less than 6 hours till midnight.  I feel that this will be my last day of “freedom.”  I say this because the coming 12 months will be filled with stress and tough choices.  

I have to take the SAT test in January, and again in May, and if I feel I can get a better score, then I’ll take the test again in September or October.  I also have my AP Writing exam in May.  In March, I will be [hopefully] going to an MUN conference in Amsterdam.  During the summer, I hope to tour universities in New York that I am interested in, which will be a very long journey.  

Once school starts in September, I’ll be a senior and I’ll have to get all my applications together and send them off to my desired universities.  By spring of 2014, I’ll find out where and where not I will go to start the rest of my life.  

I know that 2013 will be a challenging year for me academically.  I’m nervous about taking the SAT since I suck so bad at math.  Thankfully, English Critical Reading and Writing is a subject I’m great at.  

Along with taking all these tests and getting everything ready to leave this country and start anew on a whole other continent, I hope to really improve as a person, from both the inside and the outside.  A change of attitude and mindset has been long overdue, and I just hope I can continue becoming a better person in general.  

I also would really like to put a lot of effort into developing my talents and hobbies, especially if I want to send my pieces of work in a portfolio to my desired universities.  I want to write a lot more, practice fashion drawing more professionally, and try and be a better photographer (although I truly believe I’m shit at it.  I just feel real bad owning an expensive camera and not using it.)  

 

Well there.  Even though I think New Year’s Resolutions are horrible and are never accomplished, I just wrote mine.  I wish you all the best in the coming year, for you and your families.  Hope 2013 will be great for you all!

See you in Twenty-Thirteen,

xx Adelaide

Author: Adelaide Martin

18 year old international student's transition into college life on a new continent.

One thought on “New Year

  1. Pingback: Accomplishments and Hopes | Midnight Impulse

Leave a Reply

