Midnight Impulse

learning experiences and impulsive decisions

Realizations

7 Comments

I’ve recently come to the realization that if I were to die anytime soon, all that would be left of me is my computer.  My entire life’s accomplishments thus far are contained in a white, 13 inch MacBook laptop on which I have doodled several colourful sharpie nonsense (they said I’ve “ruined” my computer, I like to think I gave it character.)  

Everything I have ever written, everything I’ve ever photographed, everything I’ve ever listened to or watched, is all contained on this one machine.  If (yes, IF) I die, all you ever wanted to or needed to know about me is contained here.  If you open my web browser, you’ll notice there’s about 30 bookmarked items, several of which are folders, within which are all my favourite websites.  You can go through it and click through the sites I visited on a daily basis, the blogs I follow, the blogs I own, my social networks, my favourite TV shows.  You can look through my IMDB account and see a list of all the movies I’d planned on watching, and all the books I wanted to read on GoodReads.com.  

The thought half-depresses me.  On one hand, it’s terrifying to know my whole life is contained in something so small.  On the other, it brings a smile on my face because it reminds me of a Friends episode, when Ross is chatting up a girl, telling her about how in the future, humans can live on forever in the form of machines.  

I wonder if anyone else’s life is like this?

Adelaide

 

P.S.: come to think of it, I should probably back up this whole machine in case it dies or gets stolen ….

Author: Adelaide Martin

18 year old international student's transition into college life on a new continent.

7 thoughts on “Realizations

  1. Backing up is always a good idea!
    But in response to the rest of this post, I can understand why it might seem sad to think of everything being able to be contained that way, but that is only one way to look at it. Don’t forget, for example, that computer technology is such that an immense amount of stuff can be stored on a computer. It’s amazing! Over the years, I sometimes regretted that there were things I couldn’t keep in one place.
    Another way to think about it is to think about what happens if you live! Being able to carry all of your creative work in a small container gives you an enormous amount of freedom. You can pick up everything that’s important to you and easily carry it anywhere in the world. That gives you incredible options. And all the while, you can continue working and adding to your growing body of work.
    I’m really glad to be able to see parts of your journey. Thanks for sharing!

    • That’s a great way of looking at it too. I have everything in one massive “binder.” It definitely doesn’t weigh as much as stacks and stacks of paper.
      Thanks so much for reading and the very thoughtful comment!

      • You’re very welcome. Your question struck so close to home for me because of my own blog. I am wondering if I could share the story of your “container” on my blog. Let me know what you think. If you want to see what I’ve been doing, you can go to http://myriad234.wordpress.com. I look forward to hearing from you. 🙂

  2. Sure, I don’t mind. It’s a little publicity for me 😀

  3. I know the feeling! A lot of the digital artwork, writing, and stuff is on my computer. Being a tech guy, we really don’t realize how much we depend on our computers until they don’t work. Backup like it’s scripture! Always try to have multiple areas where you back up. I’ve discovered that many a time when I’ve lost pictures of relationships and writing that I used to have. I still don’t listen to my own advice but I try to back up stuff on a more regular basis now.

    Another reason I’ve thought about backing stuff up more now is because I’ve wanted to build a new computer for a while – I’ve been using the same old recycled parts for a while. I think it’s time for a change so I definitely want to make sure I’ll be able to take most of my old stuff with me on to the new hardware.

    • I’ll be looking more into the whole backing-up thing, since my version of that is storing word docs on my 1GB flashdrive (not the smartest thing to do, but I never lose anything, *knock on wood*)
      Good luck with your new computer! Hope everything makes it on the new device 🙂

Leave a Reply

