Midnight Impulse

learning experiences and impulsive decisions

I’m Upset

3 Comments

I’m upset.

I’d very much like to write about something joyful, something inspirational, something motivational, but I cannot.  Recalling a very long post I wrote weeks earlier, the younger sister of that same girl today also decided to insult me.  While discussing my favourite TV show with a friend, (The Walking Dead), a classmate of mine chimed in to our conversation, saying, “Oh, the Walking Dead?  That’s my friend’s favourite show too!” (Note that her friend is the younger sister of the girl who wouldn’t allow me to read her science poster during the Science Fair).  Upon finding out that someone else shares my interests, I turn to the younger sister and blurt out something about The Walking Dead.  Her response?  She stares at me, dead serious, and when she speaks, she says, “Don’t talk to me, ok?  Just don’t talk me.”  

What.  The.  Fuck.

My jaw actually dropped.  My schoolmates never cease to surprise me.  Situations like these make me seriously wish I was better at thinking on my feet and coming up with quick replies, but she just caught me SO off guard I was stumped.  My books for next period already in hand, I turn on my heel and walk in the direction of my next class.  Behind me I hear the sister’s friend laughing and saying, “You’re so mean!”  She continues giggling until I can no longer hear them.  

The thing is, this wasn’t and shouldn’t be considered a big deal.  The problem, however, is the simple fact that I just can’t stop thinking about it.  I’ve no need to speak to this girl.  She is immature and close-minded, yet the incident has clawed itself in my mind and won’t let go.  I can’t believe that so many people honestly believe that she’s “chill.”  She is annoying, immature, ditzy, and has a constantly open mouth spewing out immemorable, unimportant diarrhea.  

If anyone has any advice on not letting things like this get to you, feel free to comment and thanks in advance 🙂

 

Hope you all have a better day,

Addie

Author: Adelaide Martin

18 year old international student's transition into college life on a new continent.

3 thoughts on “I’m Upset

  1. I really admire your honesty. It’s totally understandable that her nasty remark would upset you. One thing that might help you feel better is to know, really know, that the way she treated you probably had very little to do with you (as twisted as that sounds). She’s probably dealing with her own stress and troubles, and clearly not dealing very well, and it bursts out in these senseless or unkind ways. No need to waste your energy on her, she’s living her life, and you’re living yours.

  2. Pingback: [Not My] Graduation Part II: Young’s Advice | Midnight Impulse

Leave a Reply

