Midnight Impulse

learning experiences and impulsive decisions

A Perfect Day for Self-Reflection

Leave a comment

“You feel a lack of self and it’s someone else telling you to try where you failed before”

An air of peaceful melancholy has draped itself around my small school community.  Today was just as eventless as any other day.  The ash-grey sky once again opened up to pour its guts out during Algebra, guaranteeing a wet walk home.  An hour later, after putting on my earphones, I accidentally clicked a song I’d recently downloaded.  That was a good accident.  Caught a Ghost’s “Time Go” is the perfect song to take a walk in the rain to.  Upon getting home a few minutes later, I began thinking about judgements and wrong decisions I’ve made in the past–something I’ve been doing a lot of recently.

I’ve made the wrong calls many times in the past, as anybody does.  The optimistic person would call these “learning experiences” rather than “regrets,” but I just need it to be set in stone that I have learned from these wrong choices, and I do plan on not repeating these mistakes.  Who am I to judge?  I know it’s cliche, but I don’t think I’ve ever truly absorbed that piece of wisdom…until now.  I shouldn’t be speaking poorly about people behind their backs regarding issues that are of no concern to me.  I should also not be choosing sides in issues that I’m not a part of.

Jealousy and hate are such terribly self-destructive forces, and what you say will eventually come back and bite you in the ass.  I don’t want to be the person who always jumps to conclusions anymore.   As Edgar Allan Poe had so simply put it, “Believe only half of what you see and nothing that you hear.”

Love,

Adelaide

Author: Adelaide Martin

18 year old international student's transition into college life on a new continent.

Leave a Reply

