Midnight Impulse

learning experiences and impulsive decisions

Fading Communication

Leave a comment

I’m sure everyone’s experienced losing touch with a friend who’s moved away.  This isn’t a new phenomenon for me, just as it isn’t for a lot of others.  This case is a bit different.  It’s my best friend, Tsunami.  We’ve known each other since I was in 7th grade and been besties since 9th.  She’s two years older than me, so she graduated a couple years ago and went off to university 8 timezones away.  The first year she was away we were both doing fine.  We Whatsapped all the time and knew what was going on in one another’s lives.  This year it’s a bit–a lot, actually–different.  I got much closer to my friend from last year, KitKat, and Tsunami got a lot closer to her friend there (who she also knew since last year).  No biggie, of course.  

But my theory is that these two new friends are replacements for Tsunami and I (of each other).  Now that she’s settled in she has someone for her there and I have someone for me here.  I think this eliminated the need for the two of us to be super close as we used to.  We don’t text everyday as we used to; rather, our Whatsapp convos are short and feel unreciprocated.  We speak for less than 20 lines.  She’s busy I guess.

Which I don’t mind.  I’m not jealous.  I’m happy for her and I’m happy for me.  But I just feel kind of ignored by her lately.  I always give so many details for what’s happening with me and what I’d done that day but she’ll tell me she went to a party at some random place and that’s that.  It’s like she doesn’t need me anymore.  She outgrew me.

Insight?

A melancholy Adelaide.

Author: Adelaide Martin

18 year old international student's transition into college life on a new continent.

Leave a Reply

