Midnight Impulse

learning experiences and impulsive decisions

When You Know The Topic is Wrong

Leave a comment

It doesn’t really feel like New Year’s today.  There’s something up with the weather.  My friend says it’s cold to celebrate while I don’t think there’s enough snow.  The house is decorated, but I haven’t been in a festive mood at all.  

My mom’s in a bad mood and I’m not sure why.  I guess she’s stressed?  There’s always a lot of cooking going on New Year’s Eve.  Plus there’s the whole finding a way to dispense the presents without the kids seeing who’s doing it.  I cleaned up the dishes and the my took my stuff off the dining table like she asked, and later I asked if there’s anything that she needs me to do, but she’s being cold and refusing me.  I hate when she does that.  

In other news, the university application deadline is tomorrow, January 1st.  Great date, really.  Thanks a bunch for whoever set that up.  I’m going to have to take Syracuse University off my list because I’m having issues with recommendation letters (long, boring story).  I suppose they weren’t really my first choice anyway.  I added Syracuse because they offered both Education and Fashion Design, which are both second-choice majors for me.  Tomorrow, I’ll be just sending in my application to New York University, my dream school that will most likely shoot me down.  Keeping that in mind, I still want to make certain what they think of me.  

On the 3rd I’m turning in my application for Boston University, my current favourite off my list.  They offer so many study options and have a really strong Journalism programme.  Unfortunately, I missed the scholarship deadline by a month due to being stupid and not checking beforehand.  

I still haven’t written my personal statement.  I don’t know what I’m waiting for.  I’d originally went for the “background story” option that the Common Application offers, but the story just isn’t right.  I can’t lead it into the right direction (not that I know where that is) so I figure I should choose a different topic entirely and start over.  You know you’ve picked the wrong topic when you cannot bring yourself to work with it.

 

Happy New Year to you all and hope to be seeing you in 2014!

Adelaide Martin

Author: Adelaide Martin

18 year old international student's transition into college life on a new continent.

Leave a Reply

