Midnight Impulse

learning experiences and impulsive decisions

2014 Resolutions

Leave a comment

I didn’t give much thought to them before December 31, but now I figured them out: in 2014, I aim to be less bossy.  I will work to stop nagging people to do their work (because it’s annoying and I’m a hypocrite) and I will not correct anyone’s grammatical mistakes unless asked.

I sent my common applications off to New York University and Boston University, and I must say it feels really nice to be over with them.  I now have Emerson College due on the 15th, Concordia University (Montreal) due February 1st, and John Cabot due I-honestly-have-no-idea-when.  Should probably figure that one out.

I’m upset with myself for not doing AP work like I was meant to.  I’m five units behind in two classes, and now I’m going to be even more behind because semester two of the courses (AP Psychology and Latin I) will be starting.  But what can I do?  I have no choice other than to sit down and finish my work.  

We go back to school on Tuesday (Armenian Christmas is on Monday, January 6, so they have to give us that for break) and this semester I have nine classes (out of only three required classes), three of which are online.  It’s great to know that the school internet is good enough for me to do work during school hours.  Except you know.  IT’S NOT.  So online classes=home classes.  I have after school activities everyday: Mondays and Wednesdays we have volleyball practice, Tuesdays and Fridays we have Yearbook (which I am proud to say I will be teacher-aiding during it!) and MUN on Thursdays, plus 20-minute Student Council meetings during morning break on Tuesdays.  

This semester I plan to actually spend time at the gym.  Last fall I kept on making the excuse that I have too much work to do to work out, but everyday I ended up neither exercising nor well, doing my exercises.  

Author: Adelaide Martin

18 year old international student's transition into college life on a new continent.

Leave a Reply

